When making plans with people it’s often easiest to share lists of places you want to visit or suggestions of dinner or café choices.

Google Maps have now made it easy to do this on desktop, phone or tablet by allowing you to share your created lists.

[Read more: Take a trip to Victorian London with Google Maps]

Creating a list in Google Maps

Log into your Google account. To find out how to do that, click here.

Open up Google Maps on any browser and type the first place you want to have on the list in the search bar in the top left-hand corner.

In the right hand menu click Save and either click an list that already exists, for example London Tourist Hot Spots is one we created earlier, or click New List.

Google Maps

If you click on New List you can create a list by adding the list name (40 characters max.) and clicking Create.

New list

The location you looked at will now be saved into this list, and if you want to add any more places you can just repeat the process. Your newly created list will come up when you click Save in the left hand menu (just like above).

[Read more: Guess what Google has hidden in its maps app?]

Finding your lists and sharing them

Open up Google Maps in your browser and click the three-line icon in the top left-hand corner, next to the search bar.

In the menu that slides out, click Your Places.

Click on the Saved tab and then find the list you created earlier and click on the three vertical dots at the end of the line. Click Share list.

Your Places

In the pop-up menu if you click Private on the right-hand side and change it to Shared, a shareable link comes up which you can send to anyone you would like to also see.

There’s also the option to share on Google+, Facebook and Twitter if you click on the icons at the bottom.

Shareable link

Sync lists

These lists will be saved across all the devices you have logged into on your Gmail account, such as your tablet or smartphone.

Share lists from your smartphone

Open up the Google Maps app on your smartphone and click the three horizontal lines in the top left-hand corner.

In the menu click Your places.

Phone one

Click Saved and next to the list you want to share, click the three horizontal dots.

Click Sharing options and then click Shared to get the link for sharing.

Phone two

[Read more: What is a Google Account?]