Snapchat is incredibly popular, especially among young people. But sometimes the constant influx of photos and messages can be a bit much. And when that happens, it’s time to delete your account.

If you’re wondering how to go about it, follow these simple steps. You’ll have your life back before you know it.

[Read more: Snapchat – what parents need to know about the photo-sharing social network]

Step 1: Fire up your browser

There are two ways to delete your Snapchat account, but annoyingly, neither can be done through the app. Instead, you must use your web browser. You can do this on your phone, of course, or your tablet, laptop or desktop computer.

Head to Snapchat delete page and enter your username and password. Then tick the box to confirm that you are a human and not a robot.

Step 2: Confirm

Snapchat will now ask if you’re really sure you want to leave, and to make sure, will ask you to enter your username and password again. It’s annoying, but it’s a necessary step to make sure no one deletes their account by mistake.

To do so, enter the requisite details, then click Continue at the bottom of the screen. This deactivates your account – Snapchat will email you to confirm this.

[Read more: 7 Snapchat tips and tricks]

Snapchat screenshot deactivate

Step 3: Wait 30 days

Much like Facebook, your account isn’t automatically deleted, it’s just made inactive. In order to delete it for good, you should not log in for 30 days. Once that period has expired, your account will be permanently deleted and you won’t be able to log in without creating a new account.

Changed your mind? Just log in to Snapchat within 30 days, and your account will be reactivated.

Step 4: Go another way

If you don’t want to type in that long website address mentioned in step one, there is another way to delete your account. Just head to snapchat.com using your browser and go to Community -Support - My Account & Settings - Account information - Delete My Account and follow the link from there.

Then just follow steps one to three above. And you’re done, no more Snapchat messages swallowing your spare time.

[Read more: Snapchat adds Snap Map to show users where their friends are]