Sent the wrong image to the group chat? Here’s how to delete a WhatsApp message forever

Ever sent a picture or text message via WhatsApp and wished you hadn't? Here's a simple tip that can help you get out of sticky situations.

Most people have had that stomach-churning moment of distress when they realise they’ve sent a picture or message to someone they shouldn’t have.

Now, providing you are quick to realise and the recipient also has the most up to date version of WhatsApp, you can delete the WhatsApp message before it is read.

You can only delete WhatsApp message forever for everyone in the first hour after sending – so remember to be quick!

[Read more: How to download WhatsApp on your smartphone or computer]

How to delete WhatsApp messages on an iPhone

Open WhatsApp and click and hold the message you want to delete. When the black pop-up menu appears click the Arrow until you see Delete.

Click Delete. If you want to delete multiple messages click on the circles in the left hand side. Once all the messages are selected click the bin in the left-hand corner.

iphone

Then click Delete for Everyone to permanently remove the message, or Delete for Me for just your personal WhatsApp.

The chat will then have the note – You deleted this message.

iphone

How to delete WhatsApp messages on an Android phone

Open WhatsApp and click and hold the message you want to delete. Press Delete for Everyone to permanently delete the WhatsApp and remove it from the recipient’s chat.

Press Delete for Me to just remove the chat from your phone.

android

Click OK and the message will be deleted. The chat will then have the note – You deleted this message.

android

How to delete WhatsApp messages on a Windows phone

Open WhatsApp and tap and hold the message you want to delete. Click Delete and then Delete for everyone.

Or, click delete and then click delete for me.

[Read more: WhatsApp: What do the ticks mean?]

More from BT

Future Tech