How to hide Instagram Stories from certain followers

Instagram Stories is a great way to share your adventures, but what if you don't want everyone to see what you've been up to? The photo-sharing app offers a solution...

Instagram Stories is the photo app’s hugely successful feature which allows users to tell a story through images that disappear after 24 hours.

Instagram launched its Stories feature in the summer of 2016 and, according to the Facebook-owned platform, the popularity of the app sees 250 million people use the service every day.

[Read more: What is Instagram? How to get the best from the photo-sharing app]

[Read more: Who unfollowed me on Instagram? How to find out who stopped following you]

To use Stories, you just upload a series of photos in an order that tells a certain narrative. These then play in a slideshow, and after 24 hours, disappear.

Despite the popularity of the feature, not everyone wants to share everything with all their followers. Fortunately, there's an option that lets you hide Stories from certain followers.

Note: Hiding stories is not the same as blocking people. Those people who you simply hide stories from would still be able to see your profile and your regular posts.

Here are the five steps to take to hide your story

1. Go to your profile by tapping the person icon

2. If you are an iOS user, tap the Settings button or hit the three dots Settings icon if on Android.

3. Tap Story Settings below Account.

4. Select the option Hide Story From

5. Choose which people you want to hide the story from and press Done. When making your story visible to a person again, simply tap the tick button to unselect them.

[Read more: How to repost on Instagram - our guide in 10 easy steps]

Other ways to hide Stories

When you’re looking at who has seen your story, tap 'x' to the right of their name before selecting Hide Story From [username].

A story can also be hidden if it’s appearing on either a location or hashtag page. This can be hidden by tapping x to the right of the respective page.

Making Stories visible for longer

In December 2017, Instagram added two new features to the app to allow users to keep their stories beyond their traditional 24-hour expiration date.

The features mean that users can either archive their Stories for private viewing or create a Highlight that can be viewed on a user’s profile for as long as they desire.

Stories Archive will save every Story at the end of its 24-hour lifespan, giving people the option to go back and create a Stories Highlight collection at a later date.

[Read more: You can now keep your Instagram Stories more than 24 hours]

More from BT