How to send a secret message in Facebook Messenger

Keep your chats safe from prying eyes…

Last updated: 8 April 2018 - 8.50am

Facebook Messenger now lets you hold Secret Conversations. These are more secure than standard Messenger chats (the technical term is end-to-end encrypted), so they’re safer from prying eyes. That means they can only be read on the device of the person you’re chatting with.

Here we’ll show you how to hold a secret conversation.

[Read more: Everything you need to know about Facebook Messenger]

How to start a secret conversation in Messenger

Facebook Messenger secret

On iOS, from the Home tab, tap the compose icon in the top right of the screen. Next, tap Secret (it’s in the top right of the next screen). Select a person to message.

Android users will have to open a conversation, then tap the info icon in the top right of the screen. Then go to Secret conversation.

If you’d like to, tap the timer icon in the text box – this lets you set a time after which your message will disappear, just to make it even more secure. But remember – people can still take screengrabs, so don’t message anything that could come back to haunt you.

Where can I use secret conversations?

They’re only available on the iOS and Android Messenger apps, so you can’t use them on Facebook chat or messenger.com.

What can I send?

As well as messages, you can send pictures, stickers and videos.

What can’t I send?

You can't send group messages, gifs, voice or video calls or payments.

[Facebook Messenger Payments: Everything you need to know]

More from BT