Whenever you're out with friends and family, when you all head back to different homes at the end of a night out it’s great to know that your loved ones got back safely.

Facebook Messenger’s Live Location can provide peace of mind by letting you share exactly where you are with selected contacts for up to 60 minutes.

[Read more: How to set up Facebook privacy settings]

How to use Facebook Messenger’s Live Location

Open up the Facebook Messenger app on your phone and choose the contact you want to share your location with by either clicking the latest message with them or searching in the search bar at the top.

When in the message click the + in the bottom right hand corner.

Click the Location icon with the blue circle and white arrowhead.

Facebook messenger

[Read more: How to make your own GIFs on Facebook]

Ensure the blue dot is showing the location where you are correctly and click Share Live Location for 60 minutes at the bottom of the screen.

To allow the app to track you, you may have to change your Location Settings. If prompted when clicking by Live Location requires “Always” location access, click Settings.

Facebook messenger

[Read more: How to manage your Facebook friends]

Click Location and make sure the blue tick is next to Always by clicking on it.

When you return to Facebook Messenger you will be sharing your location already. At the bottom of the screen you can click Stop Sharing at anytime and check how much time you have left out of the 60 minutes.

Facebook messenger

[Read more: Why you should think before clicking Like on Facebook]