Worried about your online profiles after Cambridge Analytica? Here’s how to set your privacy settings on WhatsApp

Concerned with how much you're sharing on WhatsApp? Follow our simple guide to take back some control.

With the ongoing Cambridge Analytica fallout on how personal data was taken from 50 million Facebook users without their knowledge, it’s always good to look at what other data you share on everyday apps.

WhatsApp is an extremely popular messaging tool which has a lot of personal information on you, such as contact lists, images, messages, and there’s a few steps to make sure you know who can see what.

[Read more: What is Cambridge Analytica?]

Change default privacy settings

Automatically, WhatsApp allows any WhatsApp user to see your read receipts, last seen, about and profile photo. Alongside this, your contacts can see your status update.

If you want to change this, open up WhatsApp on your iOS phone and go to Settings, then click Account, then Privacy.

Adjust your Last Seen, Profile Photo, About, Status and Live Location settings appropriately. To keep your details under wraps, it's advisable to limit them to Nobody and My Contacts.

whatsapp

To do this on Android, open up WhatsApp, go to Menu Button, Settings, Account, Privacy and then adjust accordingly.

It’s worth noting if you don’t share your Last Seen, you will also not be able to see your contacts’ Last Seen.

Read receipts off

If you don’t want the sender to see when you’ve read the message, you can turn off read receipts. Click on the link below to find out how.

[Read more: WhatsApp: What do the ticks mean?]

Block contacts on WhatsApp

If someone is bothering you on WhatsApp, it’s easy to block them.

Open up WhatsApp on your iOS phone and go through the same steps above to get to Privacy. Tap Blocked and select the contact you want to block.

whatsapp

On an Android device, go through the same steps as above to get to Privacy. Then click Blocked Contacts and click Add and select the contact you wish to block.

If someone messages you directly, you can also block them by opening the chat and tap their number at the top of the screen. Scroll down the menu and click Block Contact.

When you block someone they will not be able to send you messages, see your status update or any changes to your profile.

[Read more: WhatsApp - What parents need to know about the instant messaging app]

More from BT