It’s a pretty morbid thought, but you might have wondered what happens to your Facebook account in the event something happens to you. The social networking giant has the answer, memorialising it with a legacy contract, which has launched in the UK.

Facebook said that once they had been notified of a user's death, it would "memorialise" the profile and allow the designated trustee to post a message to appear at the top of the timeline as well as respond to new friend requests and change the profile and cover photos.

"Facebook is a place to share and connect with friends and family", Facebook said in a post on its official blog in February.

"For many of us, it's also a place to remember and honor those we've lost.

"When a person passes away, their account can become a memorial of their life, friendships and experiences.

"If someone chooses, they may give their legacy contact permission to download an archive of the photos, posts and profile information they shared on Facebook.

"Other settings will remain the same as before the account was memorialised.

"The legacy contact will not be able to log in as the person who passed away or see that person's private messages."

Until now, accounts were memorialised by Facebook and could still be viewed, but could not be accessed or edited by anyone else.

Facebook has placed tight restrictions on the legacy contract system, with users only able to name one person as a trustee of their account.

If they do not do so, but do name a "digital heir" in their will, Facebook said it would acknowledge this person as the legacy contract holder.

Users could also have their accounts deleted instead.

Facebook also ensured that the account of a user who did not show up as a "suggested friend" or in other ways that could upset the person's loved ones.

 

How to add a Legacy Contact to your Facebook account

Step 1: Log into Facebook

Step 2: Click the drop-down arrow at the top right and click Settings

Step 3: Select Security from the left-hand side and click the Edit button next to Legacy Contact.

Step 4: Enter the name of the Legacy Contact (they will need to be on Facebook) and click Add.

Step 5: Alternatively, if you would prefer Facebook to delete your account, select the tick-box next to Account Deletion.

Repeat the process to change your Legacy Contact.

Are you going to add a Legacy Contact to your Facebook account or would you rather have your account deleted?. Let us know in the Comments section below.