Soon Instagram users may know when others have taken a screenshot of their Story

A small set of users are trying out the feature.

Press Association
Last updated:13 February 2018 - 09.50am

Instagram is testing a feature that can tell users if someone has taken a screenshot of their Story.

Some users – mainly in the US – have spotted a new alert appearing on the photo and video-sharing app, warning that if they screenshot or screen record, “the person who posted the story will be able to see it”.

[Read more: How to delete and deactivate your Instagram account]

Instagram already alerts users when a screenshot is taken of a direct message, but is now testing a wider version of the screenshot alert feature on a small set of users.

“We are always testing ways to improve the experience on Instagram and make it easier to share any moment with the people who matter to you,” an Instagram spokeswoman said in a statement.

The Instagram Stories enables users to post a series of photos and short videos over a 24-hour period to build a montage of their day.

It already includes a feature that tells users who has viewed their Story updates, but in the trial a new icon now appears next to any users on that list who have taken a screen shot or recording.

The screenshot warning feature is already in use on rival photo sharing service Snapchat, and is the latest Snapchat-like feature to appear in one of the Facebook owned social platforms – which also includes WhatsApp and Facebook Messenger.

Facebook has rolled out a range of updates in recent times designed to entice Snapchat users over to Facebook services, and this Instagram updates comes in the wake of research that suggests Facebook users under 24 are using the app less, with some increasingly turning to Snapchat.

[Read more: How to keep your Instagram account private]