How to share your location on WhatsApp

Tell friends where you are through the popular messaging app.

WhatsApp is a great way to stay in touch with friends, and if you use it right, it’s free. But it’s not just limited to sending messages and pictures – you can also use it to tell people where you are.

You don’t have to spell out where you are, either: its live location feature will show your contacts where you are on a map, so they can swing by and say 'hi' if they’re nearby, or help you find each other if one party is lost.

[Read more: How to keep your WhatsApp messages with a new phone number]

Here's why you might share your location, why you might choose not to, and how you can set it up.

Why would you share your location?

It’s a handy way of letting people know where you are. Maybe you know you’re both going to the same shopping centre or concert. Live location shows where you are on a map. So by sharing your location, you can find each other without countless messages trying to describe where you are.

What are the dangers of sharing your location?

Of course, the feature should be used with caution. Make sure you only share your location with people you know and trust. And you should make sure your children don’t share their location with strangers.

How do I make sure my kids can’t share their locations?

You can disable the feature within the settings app on your tablet or smartphone. Find WhatsApp within the Settings menu - it may be under Apps. Open the Permissions page (or similar) and you should be able to toggle 'Location' on or offto give the app access to your location. By switching it off or selecting Never, WhatsApp won’t be able to share your location.

For more on keeping your children safe on social media, check out this guide.

How to share your location using WhatsApp

WhatsApp share location

Open a chat.

Tap Attach > Location > Share live location or click on the paper clip icon in your message field and select Location, Continue and Allow. Choose a location from the list or click Share live location and Continue

Choose how long to share your location for. Once the designated time period has expired, your location will stop being shared.

Tap Send.

How to stop sharing your live location

Open the chat in which your location is being shared.

Tap Stop sharing.

You can also stop sharing your location for all chats. To do so, tap Menu > Settings > Account > Privacy > Live location.

Tap Stop sharing.

[Read more: How to block someone on WhatsApp]

More from BT